Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Diana Flegal of Hartline Literary

Screen Shot 2018-11-21 at 4.20.06 PM.pngDiana Flegal has been an agent with Hartline Literary Agency for eleven years.

She represents mainstream and inspirational titles, fiction and nonfiction, but nothing that conflicts with the Christian Worldview. She is currently looking for nonfiction authors with a substantial platform, as well as outstanding contemporary women’s fiction, issue fiction, and formula romance.

When she is not reading submissions or stealing away with a recreational read, she is hiking in the mountains, or kayaking.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Carolina George of CYLE Literary Elite

Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 5.59.32 PM.pngCaroline George is a literary agent with CYLE Literary Elite.

She is a generalist, and seeks many genres of fiction, including: picture books, middle grade contemporary, middle grade sci-fi/fantasy, YA contemporary, YA sci-fi/fantasy, historical, women’s, mystery, thriller, romance, adult science fiction and fantasy, Christian/inspirational fiction, horror literary fiction, and mainstream fiction.

Regarding nonfiction, she likes memoir, inspirational, self-help, and socially relevant titles.

Caroline commits her time and energy to telling stories in their many forms. As a Belmont University graduate with a double-major in publishing and public relations, Caroline aims to pursue a career committed to helping authors, publishers and organizations project their stories to their publics. She spends her time blogging, writing for various magazines and authoring young adult fiction books (her current publications include “The Prime Way Trilogy” and “The Vestige”). She considers herself a not-so-southern Georgia peach, coffee-junkie, bona fide goofball and delights in being best known for writing the phrase, “Coffee first. Save the world later.”

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Moe Ferrara of BookEnds Literary

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 12.24.27 AM.pngMoe Ferrara is a literary agent with BookEnds Literary.

Moe is interested in books for middle grade, young adult, and adult readers in most genres–especially science fiction, fantasy, contemporary, and light horror. The right contemporary or paranormal romance (sans-vampires of course) will spark her interest. She’s LGBTQ friendly, so send her that male/male erotic romance in your back pocket!

At this time she’s not looking for nonfiction, women’s fiction, or cozy mysteries.

Becoming a literary agent was fitting for the girl who, as a small child, begged her dad to buy her a book simply because “it has a hardcover.” Growing up, she had a hard time finding YA books outside of Christopher Pike and R.L. Stine, and instead tackled Tom Clancy or her mom’s romance novels. Though her career path zigzagged a bit—she attended college as a music major, earned a JD from Pace Law School, then worked various jobs throughout the publishing industry—Moe was thrilled to join the BookEnds team in May of 2015 as a literary agent and the subsidiary rights director.

A Pennsylvania native, she is the former mum of a rambunctious guinea pig who was a master at stealing treats. When not reading, she is an avid gamer and always awaiting the next Assassin’s Creed release.

Get to Know an Editor in Attendance: Shae Anderson of UrbanEdge Publishing

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 10.26.05 AM.pngShae Anderson is an editor with UrbanEdge Publishing.

She seeks submissions for drama (no street lit), crime/mystery, romance (chick lit), and nonfiction self-help.

Shae Anderson, co-owner of UrbanEdge Publishing, started UrbanEdge along with her business partner, Skyy Banks, 10 years ago. Shae has an extensive background in English and writing with 15 years as an educator; she holds a B.A. in English (Bennett College), an M.A. in Technical & Professional Writing (Georgia State Univ) and a PhD in Rhetoric & Composition also from Georgia State University. 

“UrbanEdge is a small publishing company that operates like a close knit extended family. We’re a team. Our authors support one another, communication is our first priority, and diversity is embraced at all times. Our authors represent a variety of life experiences, backgrounds, and interests – it’s what makes us unique; what bonds them is a fierce passion for what they do. UrbanEdge is not just about contemporary fiction, urban fiction, or nonfiction.  Instead, we seek good books – life changing books. UrbanEdge publishing only takes on projects that we believe in 150% – nothing less”

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Nikki Terpilowski of Hollway Literary

Screen Shot 2018-11-13 at 10.07.42 AM.pngNikki Terpilowski is a literary agent and founder of Holloway Literary.

After receiving a B.A. in English, Nikki worked in the marketing communications field for several years as a writer and editor. Deciding she wanted to align her professional career with her lifelong passion for reading and writing, she interned at the Elaine English Agency based in Washington, DC, and then moved into literary management, representing a small group of women’s fiction and romance writers, that has expanded to include a list of YA, literary, historical, southern, mystery and thriller authors. Nikki loves all types of fiction, but is particularly interested in finding fresh Southern voices and ethnically and culturally diverse fiction. Books she’s represented have been nominated for RITA awards, RT Book Review top picks, Starred Publishers Weekly reviews, bestsellers, and Goodreads Choice Awards Nominees.

When she’s not working or wrangling her three sons, she enjoys traveling to the beach, mountains and all historical sites in between.

Nikki is currently accepting pitches for:

  • Southern fiction
  • Historical fiction
  • Young adult
  • Women’s fiction
  • Literary fiction
  • Mysteries
  • Thrillers
  • Romance – Contemporary, historical and romantic suspense
  • Cozy mysteries – Written in the vein of Ellery Adams, Eva Gates, Amanda Flower, Bailey Cates, Leslie Budewitz,, with book, food and beverage (wine, beer, coffee, tea, etc.), gardening/herbs, historical society/museum themes or magical realism.
  • Science Fiction – Including Afrofuturist fiction, written in the vein of Nnedi Okorafor and Octavia Butler
  • African-American – Fiction of all types that explore the African diaspora or African-American experience in a new or interesting way that goes beyond a focus on racism or oppression.
  • Nonfiction related to mindfulness, healthy eating (Paleo, gluten-free, etc.), regional/ethnic/fusion cookbooks, foodie subjects, travel, alternative simple living, i.e. homesteading, minimalism, etc, interesting self-help (personal and professional), military experiences, Civil War, Southern living, etc.
  • Key words that interest Nikki in pitches: North Carolina, Virginia, New Orleans, Nashville, Atlanta, Charleston, Savannah, Outer Banks, Napa, Idaho, Washington, Oregon, Antartica, Mars, African-diaspora, Caribbean, African-American, Gullah, Native American, Indian, Japan, Food, Wine, Coffee, Beer, Bakery, Farms, Civil War, Revolutionary War, Southern, Mountains, Beach, Magical Realism, Spies, Espionage, DARPA, Treasure, Secret Histories, Aliens, Military, Conspiracy, Organic, Mindfulness, Yoga.

Do Not Pitch:

  • Stories that focus on chronic illness or dying
  • Erotica
  • Graphic horror (light elements of horror are acceptable)
  • Stories with graphic sex scenes
  • Police procedurals
  • Stories in which children are abused
  • Stories that explore sexual abuse and its effects
  • Stories in which racism or discrimination are the focus (unless it is historical non-fiction)
  • Fiction set in the 60s, 70s, 80s or 90s.